I am not a miss

keep-calm-and-say-yes-ma-amAs a person who is obviously well over the age of 50,  I do not like being called “Miss”  by the staff in restaurants and other places of business.  It seems patronizing to me.  And just plain wrong.

Calling a woman “Miss” is akin to calling a man “Mister.”

If a man asked a waiter for a glass of water, the waiter would not say, “I’ll get that for you right away, mister.”  He would say, “I’ll get that for you right away, sir.”

Since men are referred to as sir, I believe women should be called “ma’am,” which, according to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, is a word used to politely speak to a woman who you do not know.

I am aware that some women object to being called ma’am because they think it implies they are old.  But they are wrong.  It is simply a polite term of respect, derived from the French word “madam.”

I think all women over the age of 18 should be called ma’am, a word that has nothing to do with their marital status the way “Miss” and “Mrs” do.  Why should be a woman’s marital status be labeled, while men’s are not?!   COME ON!  It’s the 21st century already.

Leave a Reply

